The Other Side of the Unemployment Line – Update #5

February 10, 2011

Things are looking up.  I have several opportunities in various stages of development.  The interesting thing is that they are all fairly different.  One is a trench HR leadership role, another a recruiting leadership role and a final one a contract recruiter role.  All three appeal to me for different reasons.  All three have their positives and negatives.  It is going to be interesting to see how each play out and the final outcome.

Here is the most interesting thing about these jobs – not one of them is from a job board.  Not one of them is a job I applied too.  Ok, maybe that isn’t surprising to you social media mavens, but it was surprising to me.  Each of these came through a connection on Twitter or Linkedin.  In April of 2010, I joined Twitter just to see what other HR people were talking about and to help me stay connected while being at home.  At the same time I got more active on Linkedin, connecting with people in my field or in my hometown.  Now, nearly a year later, the network that I have built is working for me in ways I could not even imagine.  I am eternally grateful.

If you are reading this and you are not on Twitter or active on Linkedin – start today.  We have all heard it said that it is important to build relationships before you need them and I am living proof of how true that is.  Had I popped up in January for the first time and asked people to help, they probably would not have been so willing.  As it is so many are more than willing to help and for whatever reason, refer me to job openings.  I will never understand it, but I will forever appreciate it.

I interview for a couple of these jobs in the next week or so.  I wonder if my next job search update will be my last?!?  Fingers crossed!  Regardless of whether it is my last, my next job search post will be on my new site.  Launch date is still Monday, February 14th.  Be sure to check it out.  I’ll post the link to the new site here on Monday!

Leave a Reply

